## **IOWA STATE SHERIFFS' & DEPUTIES' ASSOCIATION**



## To Serve and Protect the People of Iowa

President:
Sergeant Shawn Ireland
Linn County Sheriff's Office
310 2nd Ave SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Phone: (319) 892-6100
shawn.ireland@linncountyiowa.gov

Secretary: Sheriff Keith Davis Wayne County Sheriff's Office 207 N. Lafayette St Corydon, IA 50060 Phone: (641) 872-1566 ddavis@wayneso.org

3/23/2024

The Honorable Charles Grassley U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Grassley,

The Iowa State Sheriffs' and Deputies' Association officially and unanimously voted to endorse the FIGHT Act, S. 1529, on February 22nd 2024 at the regular Board of Directors meeting held in Des Moines, IA.

Dogfighting and cockfighting are inhumane and repugnant activities, bound up with other crimes and a direct threat to our poultry industry. Eliminating cockfighting and dogfighting makes our state a safer place all around.

We urge you to cosponsor the FIGHT Act and helped us reduce these threats in Iowa communities.

Thank you. Sgt. Shawn Ireland Deputy Linn County Sheriff 2024 ISSDA President www.issda.org

ISSDA Permanent Mailing Address
Financial Administrator - Jared M. Schneider, Sheriff, Washington County
P.O. Box 528, Wellman, Iowa 52356-0528
Email: iared.schneider@issda.org

## Board of Directors

Elizabeth Quinn, Sergeant, Story County	First Vice President
Andy Brown, Sheriff, Pottawattamie County	. Second Vice President
Jason Sandholdt, Sheriff, Marion County	Past President
J.W. LeMaster, Sergeant, Pottawattamie Co	Board Membe
Dund Chuste Liquitanant Jaspan Co	Poard Mombar

Luke Fleener, Sheriff, Webster Co	Sheriff At-Large Board Member
Dave McDaniel, Sheriff, Hardin Co	Sheriff At-Large Board Member
Steve Erceg, Sergeant, Linn Co Deputy	y Sheriff At-Large Board Membe
Matt Hendricks, Captain, Johnson CoDeputy	y Sheriff At-Large Board Membe
Constance Toresdahl, Office Manager, Story Co	Civilian Board Member